Regions of Tasmania

Considering a sea change or tree change to Tasmania starts with an examination of the regions, cities and towns.

Tasmania has a population of just over 500,000 – about 2.3% of the total Australian population.

Hobart, the State capital, together with surrounding municipalities, has about 200,000 residents. A further 100,000 live in and around the second main city of Launceston. Another 100,000 live in cities and towns like Devonport and Burnie on the north coast.

The east coast has the driest and warmest climate, and towns such as Swansea serve many of the approximately 800,000 leisure visitors to Tasmania each year. The influx of tourists, mainly in summer, also supports west coast population centres such as Strahan.

New attractions such as the acclaimed MONA (Museum of Old and New Art) at Glenorchy provide a new incentive for visitors to the State.

Key regions:

  1. hobart and south-east Tasmania
  2. launceston and north-east Tasmania
  3. devonport and north-west Tasmania
  4. east coast of tasmania
  5. tasmanian midlands and lake country
  6. west coast of tasmania
  7. bass strait islands of tasmania

To find the distance between towns and cities in Tasmania see our distances by road chart.

tasmania is bigger than you think

Tasmania is about the same size as the Republic of Ireland. Tasmania is twice the size of Switzerland. The main island of Tasmania measures 315 kilometres at its widest point and 296 kilometres from north to south.

Lonely Planet Guide to Tasmania

The Lonely Planet Guide to Tasmania is an excellent introduction to Tasmania. It gives information on the regions, cities and towns. A useful resource whether you are visiting or relocating.

Available at bookshops or order online (price $35.95) from the tasmanian map centre.

Map of Tasmania showing various regions