George Town and surrounds

Map of George Town municipality

The George Town municipal area in Tasmania covers 652 square kilometres and is bounded to the north by Bass Strait, to the west by the Tamar River and to the east by the Little Pipers River. The area is served by the george town council.

George Town, 51 kilometres from Launceston, is the administrative centre and the oldest settlement in the region. (See distances by road chart.)

The historic precinct of Low Head sits at the mouth of the Tamar River and the coastal settlements of Bell Buoy Beach, Beechford, Lulworth, Tam O’Shanter and Weymouth face onto the shores of Bass Strait. Inland are the old mining town of Lefroy and the agricultural areas of Pipers River and the renowned Pipers Brook vineyards.

South of George Town, along the shores of the Tamar River, is the heavy industrial zone and deep-water port of Bell Bay.

Pipers Brook Vineyard
Pipers Brook Vineyard. The George Town municipal area is home to famous vineyards.
© Tourism Tasmania and
George Apostolidis

The George Town district is a diverse community with a population of about 6,700 who live predominately in the urban areas of George Town and Low Head. The town of George Town offers a range of services including primary and secondary schools, medical centre, an aged-care home, a vibrant retail centre and recreational facilities.

The George Town district enjoys a maritime climate and the pipers river region has fertile soil and micro-climates suitable for growing cool-climate grapes for the production of high quality wines.

Georgetown beach
Make a sea change to George Town for work opportunities and unbeatable lifestyle.
© George Town Council
and John de la Roche

The george town brochure (pdf 764kb) is produced for those considering business opportunities in the George Town region. It also contains general information about George Town.