Derwent Valley in Tasmania

Map of Derwent Valley municipality

The Derwent Valley of Tasmania is characterised by rural townships, green hills and river valley environment. New Norfolk, the main town, and the surrounding area are ideal for a tree change. Hobart, the capital city of Tasmania, with its facilities and services, is not far away.

The Derwent Valley municipal area covers 4,111 square kilometres in south-central Tasmania. The Derwent Valley extends north-west from Hobart to the source of the River Derwent at Lake St Clair, 195 kilometres away. The Derwent River and its nine tributaries wind through the fertile Derwent Valley in which hops, wine grapes, apples, pears, flowers, apricots and potatoes grow.

This rural setting is a gateway to some of Tasmania’s most spectacular wilderness areas, including Mt Field National Park and the Western Tasmanian World Heritage Area. The Derwent Valley is also famous for its trout fishing.

New Norfolk

Population: 9,000

Located 35 kilometres north of Hobart and 30 metres above sea level, New Norfolk is one of the largest centres in Tasmania and is set in the lush, rolling countryside of the Derwent Valley. The area is served by the derwent valley council.

New Norfolk and neighbouring Plenty are fascinating. The variety of their historic buildings, the Salmon Ponds, the old Oast Houses and the gentle undulations of the countryside on either side of the Derwent River make this one of the most attractive areas in southern Tasmania.

(See distances by road chart.)


Population: 400

Maydena is situated in the picturesque south-west of Tasmania.

It is virtually in the heart of World Heritage-listed national parks, with the natural beauty of Mount Field, the Styx Valley and the Florentine River. International tourists come here to see the temperate rain forests and nearby wilderness.

Derwent Valley
New Norfolk. An ideal tree change area.
Map of Tasmania showing Derwent Valley area